Sbuckles30's Blog


MAFINGA, LUGANGA SEC. SCHOOL AND EDINA
July 30, 2009, 10:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

On Monday I took the journey to Mafinga to visit Allen’s sister, Edina.  She was kind enough to welcome me into her school and her home without having met me before.  My journey began around 9:30 am on a crowded little bus at the Iringa bus station.  I was the only mzungu (white person) on it, with my bags on my lap crammed between two people.   

Allen told me, “oh, my Shaina.  It will only be 30 to 45 min to reach Mafinga.”  Well, an hour and a half later, I arrived in Mafinga and boy was it cold!  I got off the bus with my things and again, I felt right at home even though I was in a strange town and the only white person.  I got right into the swing of things, called Edina and waited.  She happened to be right at the bus station walking my way.  It was instant friendship!  She was so warm and welcoming with a big smile on her face which never left for the 2 days that I was there.

Edina, her 2nd and family email                         Flower at luganga

We took a cab to her house and she welcomed me into her home.  It was so nice.  I settled into my room and we went to her school, Luganga Secondary School.  She is the headmistress.  They were in the middle of an interview process of students.  Students are in charge of things like clubs, but African style.  Things like guidance and counseling, building and maintenance, sports and games.  The students choose 3 students for the positions, then the teachers interview them and choose the one that would best fulfill the position.  It was very interesting. 

After that, we got picked up by Father Nyangu from Mafinga Seminary and spent some time looking at the computer lab and guess who I saw, Thales.  He was one of my favorite students.  He came to the class not knowing how to turn on the computer and left creating powerpoints.  He showed me around the lab and he was so proud.  I was proud too.  We hung out with two Indian sisters and Father Nyangu and then we went to Thales’ house for sodas.  It was wonderful being in his house and he was delighted.  I love Tanzanian hospitality.  Even though they have very little, they will give what they have in order to make their guests comfortable.  They are much more concerned with how the guest feels then their own concerns.

THales at computer lab email                   Thales' house email

We left the Seminary and went back to Edina’s where her daughters prepared a lovely meal of rice, chicken and soup.  We were with Edina’s second headmaster and we had a great time watching news and soap operas.

The next day, back to Luganga.  I took a tour of the property and it was gorgeous.  The town is full of gorgeous trees and thick forests.  I sat in on a class and really enjoyed myself.  The teacher was young and full of life.  He was very interactive with the students.  I talked the rest of the afternoon with the teachers and the students and then the teachers sent me off with a beautiful kitenge.  Edina and I enjoyed a nice lunch and went to town to catch the bus.

Luganga class email           Luganga staff email

                                         Kitenge from Luganga email

She has become my sister.  She is so loving and full of life!  She gave me everything in her home and she didn’t even know me, but after 2 days we formed a special bond.  Black or white, American or African, it just doesn’t matter.  We are  people with the same thoughts and feelings and Edina and I will always be good friends, even sisters. Edina and I email


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You seem very impressed with the people of Tanzania. Sounds like you’re a second citizen of the country. Cool.

Comment by Ron Buckles




Leave a comment