Sbuckles30's Blog


Reception at Lugalo
July 15, 2009, 6:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Jan Pullin from St.Stephens and her husband Jim arrived in Iringa Friday night.  Stan had a reception planned at Lugalo because that is the sister school of St. Stephens.  We had no idea what to expect.  Stan and the others drove, but Chris and I walked. 

When we walked up, we heard singing and laughing and the girls in their uniforms rushed up to us to put African clothing on us.  We took a tour of the school and then we entered this reception room.  There was a long table at the head of the room with our names assigned to certain seats.  We directed to go to our places and the show began.  They sung several songs, most of those they had written themselves.  They recited poetry that they had written.  They did traditional African dances which Sunita, Jan and I were instructed to join in.    Jan and Lugalo English teacher email

It was unbelievable!  The hospitality of this school.  They were so glad we were here and they were so thankful of the computers and the teaching we had given them.  It was better than any wedding reception I had ever been to.  They repeatedly took turns saying how grateful they were to Global Outreach and St. Stephens.  They offered the best they had for us.  We were their special guests, and to me that was an understatement.  They were all so genuine and sincere.  The students were radiating with pride for their culture.  It was beautiful. Stan,Ally and Lugalo students email

Star girls at Lugalo email

 After we had eaten, it was mingling time.  The students rushed up to us, chatting and smiling and begging to have their picture taken with us.  They kept telling us thank you so much for coming.  You are very welcome here at Lugalo.  They all made us feel at home in Iringa, in Tanzania and in Africa.  I was glowing when we left the school.  We had been treated like kings and queens, yet I was so humbled.  I have never witnessed such appreciation. 

This is something I will take back with me to the U.S.  I will be grateful and appreciate everything that comes my way.  I am learning their way of life and their culture and it is so touching. 

 Again I say to everyone, if we could be just a little more like the Africans and not the other way around, the world would be a better place.  I cannot say this enough.  I will take back what I have learned here in Africa and try to incorporate it into everything that I do in my life.  They are truly Christ-like.  They are beaming with the love of Christ and we can all learn from this.  And they do all this without all our “modern conveniences” and technology.  They live simply and they love greatly.

Lugalo girls and me email                      Beautiful Lugalo girls email


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m gonna hold you to that vow. Lovely stuff once more and great pics with the cute kids.

Comment by Rayzor

Hi Shaina! Enjoy your time there – seeing you on screen reminded me of how happily overwhelmed I was last year at the Lugalo reception. Take care and enjoy the rest of your adventure!

Comment by Paula

Thanks so much for commenting Paula. They missed you and wished that you were there with them.

Comment by sbuckles30




Leave a comment