Sbuckles30's Blog


The wrong Gangilonga
July 14, 2009, 11:52 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last Friday, after teaching, Allen, Chris and I decided to trek out to the place called Gangilonga. It is a HeHe word for  “speaking rock”. While driving up there, we asked 3 people along the way, which rock it was and they kept pointing to the same one. So, we parked and started our hike.

In the beginning of the hike I spotted a stone formation shaped like a mushroom. Me and Mushroom rock emailAs we headed up, I kept getting attacked by these very thorny trees. They God I was wearing my kanga like a shawl. It protected me from most of the attacks, but I still came out slightly scathed. We ventured higher up and came to the rock. It was not climbable due to we had no rock climbing equipment, but we did explore around it and found some flat rocks that stood high on the mountain.

Allen the hiker emailWe gathered on the rocks and down below us was Iringa. It was such a beautiful sight. There was a lovely breeze and it was so serene. Chris was more adventurous than Allen and I and went towards higher rocks. He was determined to climb them and he did. He was “king of the world” for a moment. Chris on top of the world email

We had a wonderful exploration and just a great time. On the way down, we took a different route which was much steeper. Just as I was saying how I fall on every hike, there I went sliding down the mountain. Luckily I was wearing some gym pants under my skirt, so I was saved from most harmed, but still have some big scratches on my arm to show off as war wounds.

When we returned to town, we caught up with Miraji and Stan and told them about our adventure. Miraji started laughing and told us that the stone that we climbed up to was not the true Gangilonga. The wrong Gangilonga email

The real one has driving paths and then a nice smooth walkway up to the stone. Chris and I just looked at one another and laughed. But we both agreed that hiking up the mountain was a better experience. All three of us had a wonderful time together. It was truly another incredible Iringa experience. Hikin' up the mountain email

Iringa cloud formation email                 Leaves close up email        Profile overlooking Iringa email


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment