Sbuckles30's Blog


Graduation Day
July 11, 2009, 10:30 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The group have worked all week and now – graduation day!  It was a memorable and emotional day.  We had been with them for 9 hrs a day for 5 days.  We got to know every individual personality. 

There is a picture below of me pointing with the students crouched low to the ground.  Do you know what they are doing?  They are picking up rocks for their bingo game pieces.  Day 4 was my day teaching the class and I had a blast and I think the students did to.  I introduced to them crossword puzzles, word searches and finally, bingo.  It was so much fun seeing them getting up and moving around to person to person asking for help with the crossword puzzles.  They were smiling and having a good time while learning.  And just when they thought I was too crazy – that’s when I marched them outside and had them hunting for rocks.  They thought that was the strangest thing, but they had fun.  It was different and engaging.  They as students were part of the teaching.  They did such a wonderful job with the games.  This is something they have NEVER done in a class and they enjoyed it.  They immediately started creating their own games for their classes. 

In only 5 days, they learned so much and we grew to love them and respect them.  Tanzanians are such lovely people.  The gratitude they have is immense.  They received their certificates of completion and their eyes were wide and sparkling.  Some got up and talked about the week and how much they had learned.

They thanked the three of us so humbly – it was a lesson in humility for all of us.  They presented Sunita and me with beautiful pieces of cloth to use as a dress, skirt, wrap or scarf.  Chris was given a necklace for himself and one for his girlfriend.  They also signed and wrote individual notes in a card. 

What a day!  I was so proud at the moment.  This is what teaching is about.  It made me somewhat discouraged by American behavior.  It is very rare that a student expresses his gratitude for what you have taught them, but I do have hope.

Africans are so thankful and appreciative.  At that moment, I was the happiest I have been about being a teacher.  This is why I went into teaching.  It was a moment I will never forget.  Their excitement for learning is unimaginable to us in the United States.  Every piece of information, they are noting and storing in their minds.  They are thinking how this will help them and their children and the future generations.

They want to get out of poverty and the Tanzanians know it will only be through education. 

I truly believe we have taught them good things to bring back to their schools.  We have given them the tools, now it us up to them to use them.  They are an encouragement to me and I think also to Chis and Sunita.  Everyone out there reading this – if you could only see through their eyes for a minute – what a world of difference it would make!

God Bless!Beginning of Class Presentation emailPickin' up rocks emailPlayin' games emailGraduation Day emailGirls of the class


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Simply transcendent and soulful Bix. I am so proud of all of you.

Comment by Rayzor

Shaina,
Sorry it took so long for me to check out your blog. I am so impressed by your beautiful writing skills, but more importantly by your spiritual growth during this journey. Your description of how your items were missing…but were they really? After all, it was during that time that you discovered how the more tangibles we have the more we lose our TRUE selves. I will continue to pray for you and your team, although I am truly confident that your journey will go well. Love you lots, Christina

Comment by Christina




Leave a comment